Data breaches, identity theft, online and phone scams are a reality in our lives today. Never reveal sensitive financial information to a person or business you don’t know, whether they reach out to you via phone or text.

Please be aware that the International Institute of Physics, IIP, does not request payment information of any kind. Scammers sometimes approach participants claiming to be able to provide accommodation and asking for credit card information. Please do not give any information away. IIP will be in touch via official email regarding accommodation and financial support for qualified applicants. If you have any questions, please contact IIP events department at

Fundamental Aspects of String Theory

Online Workshop | Monday, June 08, 2020 - Friday, June 12, 2020
Nathan Berkovits (IFT, ICTP-SAIFR)
Thiago Fleury (IIP-UFRN)
Ashoke Sen (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, HBNI )
Brenno Vallilo (Universidad Andres Bello )




The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers working on string field theory, pure spinors, amplitudes and holography to discuss recent developments and to create new collaborations. Recently, many progresses have occurred on these fields such as new vertex operators, new integrable structures, new results in amplitudes and string perturbation theory. String theory is a consistent theory of quantum gravity and it can give us several new insights about it. Moreover, new methods developed originally in string theory can be used to study other conformal theories and gauge theories which have several applications in statistical mechanics, condensed matter and particle physics.


This workshop is jointly organized with the ICTP-Saifr in São Paulo.



The link for the ICTP is




  • String field theory;
  • Pure spinors;
  • Amplitudes;
  • Holography.




Due to Covid-19, the workshop will be organized as an online workshop. Originally it was three weeks long (two weeks in São Paulo and one week in Natal). 

In this new format, its duration will be only one week. The talks will be scheduled for Monday-Friday, June 8-12, from 8 am - 1 pm. 
It will consist of several 25-minutes talks which will be broadcast live using the Zoom platform.
The talks will use sharescreen with either slides or notes on the screen, and 5 minutes will be reserved for questions after every talk. 
The full list of speakers and the final event program is going to appear on this website in the future.  
Please register on the website to receive the link. There is no registration deadline. 

   - *Tim Adamo* (Edinburgh University, UK)
   - *Eduardo Casali* (UC-Davis, QMAP, USA)
   - *Subhroneel Chakrabarti* (IMSc, Chennai and HBNI-Mumbai, India)
   - *Osvaldo Chandia* (Universidade Adolfo Ibáñez, Chile)
   - *Kevin Costello* (Perimeter Institute, Canada)
   - *Harold Erbin* (Turin University, Alessandria and INFN, Italy)
   - *Ted Erler* (ACSR Prague, Czech Republic)
   - *Yvonne Geyer* (Chulalongkorn University, Thailand)
   - *Nobuyuki Ishibashi* (Tsukuba University, Japan)
   - *Renann Lipinski Jusinskas* (Institute of Physics-Prague, Czech
   - *Hiroshige Kajiura* (Chiba University, Japan)
   - *Sitender Kashyap* (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, India)
   - *Shota Komatsu* (IAS Princeton, USA)
   - *Matej Kudrna* (Institute of Physics, Prague, Czech Republic)
   - *Hiroshi Kunitomo* (Kyoto University and Yukawa Institute, Japan)
   - *Alak Laddha* (Chennai Math Institute, India)
   - *Carlo Maccaferri* (Turin University and INFN, Italy)
   - *Lionel Mason* (Oxford University, UK)
   - *Toru Masuda* (ASCR-Prague, Czech Republic)
   - *Hiroaki Matsunaga* (Institute of Physics-Prague and Czech Academy of
   Sciences, Czech Republic)
   - *Anupam Mazumdar* (Groningen University, the Netherlands)
   - *Ruggero Noris* (Turin Polytechnic and INFN, Italy)
   - *Yuji Okawa* (Tokyo University Komaba, Japan)
   - *Leonardo Rastelli* (YITP-Stony Brook, USA)
   - *Ivo Sachs* (Munich University-LMU, Germany)
   - *Lorenz Schlechter* (Max Planck Institute-Munich, Germany)
   - *Oliver Schlotterer* (Uppsala University, Sweden)
   - *Albert Schwarz* (University of California at Davis, USA)
   - *Ashoke Sen* (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, India)
   - *Jim Stasheff* (North Carolina University, USA)
   - *Mritunjay Verma* (INFN-Naples and Naples University, Italy)
   - *Jakub Vosmera* (Institute of Physics and Charles University, Prague,
   Czech Republic)
   - *Xi Yin* (Harvard University, USA)
   - *Barton Zwiebach* (MIT, USA)